Skip to main content
Page: Home » About Us
Blank Spacer
Help Site: A
Skip to Home Subsystem Menu
The Connecticut Medical Assistance Program is comprised of the programs listed below. Information on other programs administered by the Department of Social Services can be found here. If you are a Connecticut resident interested in enrolling in one of these programs, please contact the DSS Regional Office for your town.

Connecticut Medical Assistance Program
The Department of Social Services (DSS) provides medical assistance to low income persons and people who could otherwise support themselves if not for the fact that they have excessive health care costs. The Connecticut Medical Assistance Program (CTMAP) provides this assistance through a variety of programs and administrative functions. The CTMAP offers a comprehensive health care benefit package that supports the following:
  • HUSKY A – Family Medicaid
  • HUSKY B – State Children’s Health Insurance Program (SCHIP)
  • HUSKY C – previously referred to as Medicaid, Title XIX, fee-for-service, or Adult Medicaid
  • HUSKY D – previously referred to as Medicaid for Low Income Adults (LIA)
Each of these programs, and the benefits available to clients in these programs, are described on the Provider Services page of the Web portal.

In addition to mandatory, optional, and non-medical services, there are special programs within the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program. The special programs include such things as:

  Early, Periodic, Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment (EPSDT) - The Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) Program is the child health component of HUSKY A, HUSKY C, and HUSKY D. It is required in every state and is designed to improve the health of low-income children, by financing appropriate and necessary health care services for children under 21 years of age. Services include periodic comprehensive health screenings, immunizations, interperiodic encounters, vision services, dental services, hearing services, other diagnostic and treatment services, and special services. Special services include case management, appointment scheduling assistance and non-emergency medical transportation.

  Healthy Start - The Healthy Start Program provides medical assistance to pregnant women whose income is at or below 250% of the Federal Poverty Level.

  Waiver Programs - The Department of Social Services supports many waiver programs. Examples of a waiver program include the Connecticut Home Care Program for Elders, the Mental Health Waiver, and the Personal Care Assistance waiver. Waiver programs are designed to provide special services, including both medical and non medical services, for a targeted population of clients. A list and description of each waiver program can be found in Chapter 8 Waiver Programs and Special Services.

  Medicare Covered Services - Clients who are eligible for the Qualified Medicare Beneficiary (QMB) program are eligible to have Medicare coinsurance and deductible claims processed for Medicare covered services only. If the Medicare payment is equal to or greater than the Medicaid allowed amount, no further payment will be made by Medicaid. Charges that are denied or not covered by Medicare will not be considered for payment under the QMB program.

Blank Spacer
Home Home    Site Map    About Us    Feedback